Home > Recipes/Creations > Rainbow Trout with Rosemary, Lemon, and Zucchini

Rainbow Trout with Rosemary, Lemon, and Zucchini

September 22, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Wow! I can’t believe it has been so long since I posted here! Its been a busy few weeks; my final year of my undergraduate degree has started and is getting into full swing, which means my nice routine of consistent wake-up times, pretty regular meals, and constant work-days has gone out the window! For the first time this year I find myself with a fairly irregular schedule that actually leaves me with some fairly significant “free” time (which I am sure will disappear soon as the assignments start to pile on). The upshot of this time means that for now I am still left with plenty of time to cook.

Rainbow Trout and Zucchini with Goat Cheese

During the school year I still make a point to cook most of my meals at home. Not only does this ensure I eat healthy and great-tasting things, but it also gives me a great chance to relax and de-stress for a bit; not to mention the cost savings! I don’t always cook complex things, a lot of stir-fries, baked/roasted dishes, and the slow-cooker definitely sees its share of use, but I always eat well 🙂 It is still the tail end of summer and some great local summer produce is still available in stores so I am going to try to use it while it lasts. Fall vegetables are also starting to emerge, clearly shown by the massive assortment of squash in the produce section during my last trip the grocery store.

My feature recipe for this post is one of those dishes that is really simple to make but tastes like a million bucks! I got a nice piece of rainbow trout from the grocery store and prepared it simply with salt, pepper, rosemary, and lemon zest. As a side I made some delicious yellow zucchini, with garlic, shallots, and rosemary, all topped with some delicious soft goat cheese. By this point I have really gotten a handle on my technique for doing fish in the oven; the key realization was to do it at a much higher heat than I had been. This allows the fish to cook through fast enough that it still stays nice and moist on the inside. Zucchini is one of my favorite vegetables, and I love the mix of flavours you get when pairing it with some nicely browned shallots and garlic. The goat cheese was the perfect finish for this dish, its creamy texture and tartness acting as a great contrast to the crispy shallots and browned zucchini. Once again I have to praise my newest kitchen gadget, my microplane, which I am constantly using to add zest and fresh-grated spices, like nutmeg, to my dishes. It is not a large investment at all for the amount of flavour you can add!

Ingredients are ready to go!

Well, that’s it for now, time to get back to the books! I will keep trying to post new recipes and reviews whenever I get a chance! I will also be doing some traveling later this year and can’t wait to do some posts on the cities I am going to visit!

-JR

Baked Rainbow Trout with Rosemary and Lemon

Ingredients (for one):

  • One Trout filet, not too thick
  • Two sprigs of rosemary
  • 2 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste
  • 1 Lemon
Directions:
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 420 °F and remove the fish from the refrigerator to allow it to warm up a bit

    Seasoned and flavoured Rainbow Trout

  2. Take a baking sheet or Pyrex dish and place one tablespoon of the olive oil down where the filet will sit
  3. Rinse the tilapia and place it the baking dish on-top of the oil, move it around to cover the bottom with oil
  4. Place the remaining tablespoon of olive oil on the fish and spread it around evenly. Season the filet with salt and pepper
  5. Zest a lemon over the fish, covering it evenly. Remove the rosemary from the stems and sprinkle it place it on the fish
  6. Bake the fish for 8-11 minutes until done. The fish is done when it is flakes gently and is light-pink through. Keep in mind that once removed from the oven it will still cook a bit so it is o.k. if you take it out a little early
  7. Squeeze the juice of 1/4 – 1/2 the lemon over the fish
  8. Serve and Enjoy!

Zucchini with Shallots, Garlic, and Goat Cheese

Ingredients (for one):

  • 1 Zucchini, washed and cut into 1-1.5 cm thick pieces
  • 2 shallots, chopped
  • One sprig of rosemary leaves
  • 1 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 1 Tbsp. Butter
  • 2 Cloves garlic, minced
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Goat cheese, 50 g or to taste
  • Juice of 1/4 of a lemon
Directions:
  1. Zucchini Ingredients

    Heat a large saute pan over medium-high heat. Once hot, add the olive oil and then the butter, allowing the foam to subside

  2. Add the shallots to the pan and spread them out as much as possible. Stir occasionally until they start to turn slightly brown
  3. Add the garlic, and saute for 30 seconds to a minute until the garlic starts to brown
  4. Add the zucchini and toss to mix/coat. Add salt, pepper, and the rosemary
  5. Continue cooking over medium-high heat until the zucchini is cooked through and is starting to brown, about 6-9 minutes. Stir/toss occasionally
  6. When finished, add the lemon juice and cook for another 30 seconds
  7. Remove from the pan, put on a plate, and crumble goat-cheese on top of it. Add a few more rosemary leaves for garnish if desired
  8. Serve and Enjoy!

Done!

Categories: Recipes/Creations
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

