Home > Farmers Market, Recipes/Creations > Wild Leek Frittata

Wild Leek Frittata

So today I made it out to the Farmers Market bright and early (7:45 am to be precise!). I am really starting to like this Saturday morning routine and it’s getting even more enjoyable now that I am not freezing my hands off the entire time! This being South-west Ontario it is still a little too early for a lot of the local produce, however that doesn’t mean that there isn’t any! I picked up some great looking hot-house tomatoes, cooking onions, fuji apples, fresh-baked bread, eggs, and….wild leeks!

Wild leeks are a new ingredient for me, I have never seen them before and never cooked with them before. However I figured they were worth getting as I heard a lot of excitement about them from some of the local chef’s I follow on twitter. For those not familiar with wild leeks (also called ramps) you can check out this Wikipedia article here. In general the flavour of a wild leek is said to contain elements of both onion and garlic (and once I got them home, I could definitely smell it!). Both the leaves and the stems of the leek can be used, with the stems having a stronger flavour to them.

So once I got home I decided to try making a frittata, something I have never made before! In order to add a bit more heft to the frittata, I decide to also use a nice ripe tomato as well as some pitted black olives that I had in my fridge.

The veggies!

After chopping off the roots from the leaks, I diced up the bulbs/stems and also cut about half of the leaves into thin slices. I saved the other half for later wrapped in paper towel in a ziplock. After cooking the leeks and tomatoes in some butter I added a the egg mixture and put the olives into the pan as well. At this point the smells coming from this pan were amazing! The leeks had this awesome garlic aroma that was not too overpowering.

In the pan!

After browning the bottom of the eggs for a few minutes, I put the pan under the broiler until the top of the frittata cooked (this by the way is one of the major distinctions between an omelet and a frittata, the frittata is finished under the oven and not folded over). Then it was out of the pan and onto the plate (I am very proud that I managed to get it onto the plate without breaking it!). Interestingly, Wikipedia tells me that frittata are commonly sliced and served unlike an omelet which is made for one person. So since this is just for me I guess it’s not a true frittata! 🙂

The finished product!

It tasted amazing! The wild leeks gave it a nice garlic flavour and some nice colour as well. The tomatoes were soft and flavourful and the olives really finished the dish off nice, adding a good salty taste. I really liked the texture of the frittata compared to an omelet as well! Overall I would definitely make this one again (maybe with some herbs from my window box once those get going).

-JR

Recipe: Wild Leek Frittata (About 20 minutes total).

Ingredients:

  • 3-5 wild leeks (depending on how strong you like the flavour)
  • 1 ripe tomato
  • 5 black olives (pitted)
  • 2-3 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steps:

  1. Start to pre-heat the broiler
  2. Clean and chop the leeks and cut the tomato into small pieces, heat the butter in an oven-safe skillet on medium temperature
  3. When the pan is hot and the butter has melted, add the leeks and tomatoes. Cook with occasional stirring until the tomatoes have become soft but not falling apart (about 4 – 5 min). While the tomatoes and leeks are cooking whisk the eggs and milk together
  4.  Add the egg mixture to the pan and then add the olives placing them evenly around the pan. Add salt and pepper.
  5. Allow the eggs to cook undisturbed until the bottom 1/2 or so is firm and the very bottom is starting to get a nice golden brown on it (4 -5 min)
  6. Remove the pan from the stove and place under the broiler until the top of the eggs begins to brown (2 – 4 min)
  7. Remove from pan, serve and enjoy!
  1. ces
    May 4, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    i’m sure this is so good! lurve olives! congrats on your new website!!!:)

    • JR
      May 5, 2011 at 8:04 am

      Thanks for your comment and support, glad you like the site so far!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

