Home > Uncategorized > Growing Herbs – Part I

Growing Herbs – Part I

Todays post is about my first attempt to grow fresh herbs indoors (I live in an apartment). This is something I have been thinking about doing for a while. I keep finding amazing recipes to cook that call for this herb or that herb but I never have any on hand. Typically I don’t plan out my meals for the week in advance, I but what looks interesting and then pick a recipe (or more often than not, just start mixing things together on my own) before I want to cook. Typically fresh herbs are not a regular item that I purchase as they don’t last very long and they can get quite expensive, not to mention the packages usually sold are too big for just me! However I did not want to let these logistics stop me from enjoying the flavours (and potential health benefits) of regularly incorporating fresh herbs into my cooking!

…Enter the indoor herb garden. After doing a bit of reading (see resources at the end of this post) I discovered that growing herbs indoors isn’t really all that complex (well see if I still share this sentiment in a few weeks time). I also spoke with my family member of mine who is very good with plants to get some advice (to say he has a green thumb is an understatement, more like two green hands).The main decision I had to make was whether to start the plants from seed or buy the plants themselves. Given that this is my first attempt at growing herbs I am going to get the majority of them as plants and try to start a few from seeds.

I visited my local Canadian Tire this weekend and picked up the following essentials:

  • Drip trays for the pots
  • Pots (free from family! Here is a tip though, you can typically get free plastic pots from places like grocery stores or garden centers who are throwing them out!)
  • GOOD potting soil (don’t skimp here, especially if growing indoors, as this is the only nutrients the plants will get)
  • Trowel
  • Spray/Misting water bottle
Based on some reading and the flavours that I know I enjoy/want to experiment with, I decided to grow the following:
  • Cilantro (from seed)
  • Basil
  • Thai Basil (from seed)
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Sage
  • Mint
A few days ago, I started the cilantro and Thai basil seeds by my window (will be picking up the rest of the plants in the next week or two). I bought the seeds from my local Wal-Mart for about $2 per pack. Hopefully within about two weeks I will start to see some seedlings!
Here are some pictures of my “window-box” setup:
Well that’s it on the herb garden for now. I will update again when I add some more plants and/or when the seedlings start to germinate.
-JR
Resources:
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. ces
    May 4, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    never had any luck with planting herbs so i just buy them all grown in pots! hahaha! but i’ll def give it a try again soon!

    • JR
      May 5, 2011 at 8:05 am

      Stay tuned for my next post (prob this weekend), having some pretty encouraging results so far! Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

